Tags

, , ,

There are many prenatal classes to choose from, the classes you choose is entirely your decision and voluntary.  This past weekend, we went on a hospital tour and I have to say that it was very helpful and free!  For starters, the tour allowed us to take a dry run to the hospital so we know where we are going when the big day arrives.  Secondly, if you hate hospitals as I do, it will ease your mind and you will learn what to expect the minute you arrive until discharge.

If you are like me, then you base your assumptions off of what mom tells you and what the movies show.  Well, I am here to tell you that a lot has changed since our moms gave birth! Our hospital had yoga balls in the delivery room to help you get comfortable –hello 2013!  I was relieved to hear that they prefer you to be walking around, and not lying in bed hooked up to machines.  This girl is anti-IV and only if it’s a necessity.  The best news? They now allow the baby to stay in the room with you, and only goes into the nursery if you request that they be taken.

Now, there are other classes out there such as Lamaze and prenatal yoga that you have to pay for and I am sure they are wonderful if that is what you are looking for.  I, however, am of the theory that women have been doing this for millions of years and you do not need to pay someone to teach you to breathe; but, that’s just my opinion.  If I go through labor and pass out because I didn’t know how to breathe, everyone can point at me and laugh.

Check out your hospital and see what they offer, just be sure to register because they fill up quickly!

