Tags

, , , ,

I overheard on Good Morning America the other morning that Jessica Alba wore a double corset to get in shape after giving birth.  Corsets have been around for a long time, but I didn’t think anyone still wore them. When I think about girdles and corsets, I still think of my Mom-Mom or Rose from Titanic:CaptureSo, naturally I started looking around online and realized there is a whole market out there that I didn’t know about. It appears that popularity is growing now that celebrities like Gwyneth Paltrow and Jen Garner have been rumored to wear these and now there are different cuts and styles to choose from.

While many women wear them to assist with weight loss, there are medical benefits as well.  According to Dr. Jennifer Ashton, Senior Medical Contributor ABC News, “The concept behind abdominal binders is very common after surgery and after the delivery of a baby to help support abdominal muscles, help with posture and reduce the feeling of bloating.”

So, I am curious if any of you wore one post baby? Let me know what you think.

Cheers, T

 

