Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

In the last two weeks, I came across two posts that have had me reflecting on the things I need to think about while raising a daughter.  Both links are worth reading and generally send the same message: having a healthy body image will help your child’s body image years down the line.

While I was reading the posts, I started thinking about my own Mom and her message to me growing up.  I feel lucky that she preached about everyone coming in all shapes and sizes.  She was realistic about working with your body shape and wearing flattering clothing on the parts that you are proud of.

It seems as if everyone is on a diet, or they “just need to cutback.”  It is rare for you to ever hear a woman say that she is happy just the way she is.  There are always 5 more pounds to lose and arms that need toning.  Tell us that we look great and I am sure you will not hear a simple thank you; the response will always be accompanied with “thanks but I need to work on blank.”  By doing this we are teaching our children that our beauty depends on our weight.  We have let a number on the scale determine our self-worth.

This has to be the stupidest thing I have ever heard. Do you think when anyone dies they will say, “If only I had lost those 5 or 10 pounds, I would die happy?” No! They could care-less about what they looked like.  In fact, I am sure they would say, “can someone bring me a brownie and a pint of ice cream?”

As I begin my journey to lose the post baby weight, I am determined to be realistic and healthy. While, I am the heaviest I have ever been, I am also the happiest I have ever been.  After all, I have earned these pounds and she is perfect:)

 

