Tags

, , , , ,

We have all heard it before, “let your baby cry it out”.   Well, in case you didn’t know, I am here to tell you that letting them cry it out makes you want to rip your own hair out!  That is right folks, my tough mom moment arrived and we have found ourselves in quite the predicament the last few nights.  It seems that just a few weeks ago she was sleeping through the night, and all of a sudden BAM back to square one.

This exciting new adventure entered our home a few nights ago when our little bundle of energy decided she no longer enjoys sleeping through the night.  Instead of having sweet baby dreams, she prefers to wake up and roll onto her belly. This may not be a big deal for some but there are three problems with this:

  1. She hates being on her belly.
  2. She cannot roll herself back onto her back.
  3. She does not remember that she hates being on her belly.

Yes, she is still little so all of these can be overlooked for the time being. 🙂

Our pediatrician must have seen this coming or jinxed us because he handed us a sheet titled, Sleep Training.   The thought here is to let your baby cry it out and by the 3rd night the baby will be on track to sleeping soundly every night.  Are you kidding me, three nights?!  I don’t know about you but we are both working parents that have developed an unhealthy dependency on caffeine.

Of course like every new mom, I Googled and found a ton of information on this:

Disclaimer-This is not my child

Disclaimer: This is not my child

What did I find, you ask?  Like everything with parenting, it is up to you.  Do you want to let them cry or do you want them to develop an expectation that if they cry you will come get them?  As with everything, I think the key is moderation.  While everyone will yell at me and say she needs to learn, I think babies should be allowed in your bed if they are crying.  After all they are only this little once and people have been doing this for millions of years.  So, yes I have had my Mom moment and let her cry the other night but I think tonight I will let her sleep with us.

Cheers, T

