Tags

, , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago I went to the gym for my free session with the personal trainer. You all know the session I am talking about, the session they offer for free when you sign up for your gym membership and then they try to sell you a package.  I was honest from the start, I know that I need to find time to exercise, make sure I eat right, and stay committed.   My goal for the meeting was to learn new workout routines and have my measurements taken.  My mission was accomplished or so I thought until we headed to the trainer’s office which is when the stress came over my body.  You all know the stress I am talking about, the stress when someone tries to pressure you into buying something that you have no intention of purchasing.  Examples of these people can be found at car lots, the center kiosks at the mall, or at the gym.

We sat at his desk and he went through the sales jargon consisting of – what results are you looking for, are you accomplishing those goals, we would motivate you etc.  I was honest from the start so I told him that I wasn’t buying a package and came for some new workout ideas.  We went back and forth for at least 5 minutes and I held strong, but then he said IT and the guilt washed over me.

On this day IT came in the form of going for new a mom’s heartstrings and instilling fear. It was something to the effect of, “After work and everyday chores, you want to be healthy for your family.  If you want to be there for your family, you need to be healthy.”

HOLD THE PHONE!

Did he really imply that I am going to die if I don’t workout and have a personal trainer? I know I am overweight by medical standards but I only have 10 more pounds of baby weight to go!  I was really upset because of course I want to be healthy for my child.  Yes, I would love to workout everyday but that’s not possible when you work full-time and have a baby. When I do have free time I want to play with my child, spend time with my husband, or actually catch up with friends.   This new mom gig comes with no personal time and when you do have it, you feel like you should clean your house or make sure the laundry is done.  Basically, it’s a constant juggling act and when free time does come around you sometimes feel guilty for wanting to spend time on yourself.  On top of the guilt, this guy just told me I won’t be around for my child if I don’t sign up for a personal trainer?! WTF?

After the tears dried and my husband made me feel better, I realize they were just trying to do their job which is to sell packages.  My main point of this post is to reiterate for all of you moms out there that  you should not feel bad about wanting to spend a couple of hours per week on yourself whether it’s going to the gym, getting your hair done or just going to buy a new outfit! My other point was to say screw you to that trainer. 🙂

Since the training session I decided that I can make it to the gym at 5:30am at least 3 days a week. I’ll keep you posted on that crazy thought!

Cheers, T

