Tags

, , , , ,

I received an email a few weeks ago explaining that every child was responsible for turning in an “About Me Poster” and I was immediately stoked! Glitter, markers, stickers, and construction paper-I was meant for this. Wahoo, PTA here I come! Yes, I am THAT parent!

For weeks I thought about how to construct it, and as I started to see other posters I knew what I liked and what I didn’t.  I complimented the mom of my favorite poster and she informed me that she found her ideas on Pinterest.  Really? We have to look to Pinterest already? This was starting to stress me out.

I went to the store to pick up a fresh box of markers and construction paper so I could get to work.

I spent hours drafting, cutting, and re-cutting; nothing was as I had imagined it. This is probably the time to mention that I am the LEAST creative and artsy person on this planet.  A lot of people are into this DIY lifestyle, but not me; I am into the lets buy it pre-made lifestyle!  When I was a kid, my Dad would do most of my school projects because I would get frustrated and creativity was his strong suit.  He would stay up all hours of the night designing my school projects and then tell me what we needed to do.  I won a lot of awards for them, but it was all Dad.

So here I am, cutting bubble letters that are not even and quickly becoming annoyed with this project.  What the heck am I doing? This is daycare and this poster is about her, not me and my overachieving ways. I need to settle down.  So, I did what I do best, I made lists.  I made lists of her favorite things and glued them on; easy and done.  I had space at the bottom of the poster, so I let her draw which is one of her favorite things to do.  Afterall, this is her poster not mine; another parenting lesson learned.  Until next time, Tara

IMG_1610[1]

 

